At long last…

November 8, 2016

My vote was cast weeks ago by absentee ballot. I’ve contributed a bit to various House and Senate campaigns. I feel like shit but that’s only partly related to the election.

2016 has been a pretty awful year. I’m definitely not over the Brexit referendum.

My guess is that the results today will be between my worst and best. The odds are strongly for Hillary Clinton as Prez. That’s a big deal. Trump is a cataclysm in several dimensions even above having a unified Republican government. So, whew!

Democratic control of the Senate is likely, but not as sure a bet. Clinton + Democratic Senate = pretty damn good.

Democratic control of the House is very unlikely. We’ll make some gains for sure, but it’s a long shot. HRC + Dem Senate + Dem House = me dancing around. That would take some of the sting out of Brexit follies.

So, I’m expected Clinton + Dem Senate which means, finally, a sane Supreme Court. 2018 will be ugly, but we can make some progress with this combo.

Go out and vote. I would prefer that you didn’t vote stupid and evil, so I encourage you to vote a straight Democratic ticket.

Update:

Well, that went poorly. Extremely poorly. We hit the worst case scenario. That sucks.

So, for maybe the first time in my life I’m thinking of going low-information on politics and policy.

1) There seems to be little point. Nothing good is coming down the pike in the US or UK (my polities). I’m not sure much good will happen in the EU. I don’t know how being well informed about a shitstorm does much.

2) There’s a pretty big emotional and time toll.

3) For politics, at least, it seems that all the stuff I’ve read is pretty wrong. We’re in a strange era. While some bits remain interesting (e.g., differential non-response) it doesn’t seem to add up to anything helpful. Maybe a new consensus will emerge, but it’s not like I’m going to do research in the area.

4) There’s a lot of wonderful people talking politics and policy but also a lot of nasty ones. It doesn’t take a lot for it to be annoying. This adds pointlessly to the emotional and time toll.

In the end, I know how I’m going to vote. I will vote. I’m happy to give some money. But I feel pretty hopeless otherwise. Even if I had the temperament to do canvassing and stuff, the benefit levels seem pretty low.

Leave a Reply

