Music Monday: Shelter from the Storm

October 17, 2016

Bob Dylan won the Nobel Prize for Literature. That’s weird.

Prizes are weird. It’s important to remember that they don’t mean all that much and projecting too much meaning on them is a recipe for pointless misery of various sorts. One point of prizes is to encourage and support work that needs it. I like Dylan a lot, but it seems like he’s recognised enough for most purposes.

And Zoe was definitely robbed!

“Shelter from the Storm” was one of the first Dylan songs I encountered, but the Hard Rain version:

In spite of the obvious flaws in this performance, it is sublime. These lines (and their performance) hit me hard every time:

Suddenly I turned around and she was standin’ there
With silver bracelets on her wrists and flowers in her hair
She walked up to me so gracefully and took my crown of thorns
Come in, she said
I’ll give ya shelter from the storm

I took silversmithing to make those bracelets!

This version hit me so strongly that it was a long time before I could even listen to the Blood on the Tracks version. Now I like it just fine. I find the contrast between the contemplative and the raucously desperate to be delightful. They seem more like two movements of one song than alternative versions.

Leave a Reply

