Music Monday: Schoolhouse Rock

July 4, 2016

It’s July 4th, which is a pretty big holiday in the US. Just another day here in the UK.

But the 4th! A perfect time to share jingoistic, if catchy, propaganda such as The Shot Heard Round the World:

And, of course, No More Kings:

(This was running through my head when I gave my citizenship oath in Manchester.)

These are so catchy and so…wrong. In so many details and in the basic spirit.

But Elbow Room really causes me some cognitive dissonance…its content is awful but it’s so catchy!

I mean:

The way was opened up for folks with bravery.
There were plenty of fights
To win land rights,
But the West was meant to be;
It was our Manifest Destiny!

I guess that’s one way to gloss over genocide!

However, the chorus of the Preamble is really pretty:

We the people,
In order to form a more perfect union,
Establish justice, insure domestic tranquility,
Provide for the common defense,
Promote the general welfare and
Secure the blessings of liberty
To ourselves and our posterity
Do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

The Preamble is great, of course, but setting it to music so that it even scans is pretty tough! (It gets a bit rough at the end.

But, I would be remiss if I didn’t include the best musical cartoon about US history:

In addition to being slick as mustard, it’s not wildly less accurate than the others!

