Music Monday: Zoe Mulford’s Acrobats (for NPR’s TinyDesk contest)

February 8, 2016

Zoe‘s been working on the new album (Kickstarter or equivalent coming soon!), but she took some time to record a video for NPR’s TinyDesk contest. We’ve started experimenting with various microphones (and it’s a PITA!) but this came out quite reasonably. It “Acrobats” from her last album, Coyote Wings:

The song was written for her brother Toby and his sweetie Rachel (who are making an album as Dr Dour and Peach). Toby and Rachel are professional clowns/physical theatre types (see their DC Based Commedia company, Faction of Fools) and the song is very apropos.

Fun fact: I first heard this song over my phone when I was waiting in Euston Station for a train back to Manchester. I think I had gone to get a visa or something (I really can’t remember!) Zoe was on tour in the US, so neither of us were home nor were we together. I had NO inkling that the song was coming…there had been no previews nor had I heard any early noodling. I’m outside the station and I don’t recall if I had earphones, but I’ve gotten an email with the title of the song as the subject and the body reading: “To my partner, who doesn’t miss a catch.” There, in the dark, outside the station, I fell in love with a song.

Update: We went to London this weekend so I snapped a (daytime) photo of the spot.

It was much darker when I was listening to Acrobats for the first time, and even less crowded. I believe they renovated a bit too. Certainly, new food vendors have moved in.

It was much darker when I was listening to Acrobats for the first time, and even less crowded. I believe they renovated a bit too. Certainly, new food vendors have moved in.

