Music Monday: Music to Grade By (plus flamethrowers)

February 1, 2016

Walking in today, I asked whether Zoe would do something silly (and outrageous) for me. Upon getting the expected “No”, I asked whether my making bambi eyes would change her mind. (The answer, as you might expect, was still “No”.  For all my practicing, bambi eyes have rarely worked! Didn’t even get me a flamethrower! Thanks for the misinformation, Calvin!)

For some reason, saying “bambi eyes” approximately 10 times in short order made me think of the ABBA song “AngelEyes”:

It’s REALLY funny if you replace “angeleyes” with “bambi eyes”:

“Bambieyes”

Ah-ha-ha, ah-aaaah
Ah-ha-ha, ah-aaaah
Ah-ha-ha, keep thinking ’bout his bambieyes
I keep thinking, a-aaah

Last night I was taking a walk along the river
And I saw him together with a young girl [Note: Too much creepiness in ABBA songs]
And the look that he gave her made me shiver
‘Cause he always used to look at me that way
And I thought maybe I should walk right up to her and say
Ah-ha-ha, it’s a game he likes to play

Look into his bambieyes
One look and you’re hypnotized
He’ll take your heart and you must pay the price (of a flamethrower)
Look into his bambieyes
You’ll think you’re in paradise
And one day you’ll find out he wears a (deer) disguise
Don’t look too deep into those bambieyes
Oh no no no no

Ah-ha-ha, ah-aaaah
Ah-ha-ha, ah-aaaah
Ah-ha-ha, keep thinking ’bout his bambieyes
I keep thinking, a-aaah

Sometimes when I’m lonely I sit and think about him
And it hurts to remember all the good times
When I thought I could never live without him
And I wonder does it have to be the same
Every time when I see him, will it bring back all the pain?
Ah-ha-ha, how can I forget that name?

Look into his bambieyes
One look and you’re hypnotized
He’ll take your heart and you must pay the price
Look into his bambieyes
You’ll think you’re in paradise
And one day you’ll find out he wears a disguise
Don’t look too deep into his bambieyes
Crazy ’bout his bambieyes
bambieyes
Once he took my heart and now I pay the price
Look into his bambieyes
You’ll think you’re in paradise
And one day you’ll find out he wears a disguise
Don’t look too deep into those bambieyes
Oh no no no no

Ah-ha-ha, ah-aaaah
Ah-ha-ha, ah-aaaah

Ah-ha-ha, keep thinking, ah-aaaah
Keep thinking ’bout his bambieyes
Ah-ha-ha, keep thinking, ah-aaaah
Keep thinking, I had to pay the price

In other news, it turns out that the ABBA corpus is excellent music to grade too if you filter out all the sappy downbeat numbers (Fernando! I’m loathing you, but not only you). I think it’s the fact that they are peppy, melodic, and familiar that makes them so good for grading.

Update: BTW, if you don’t like this French version of “On and On and On” you have no soul!

