eBook Sucking: Skeuofunctionality Limitations

January 14, 2016

Oh ebooks. I want to love you more. I’m fine reading them, but the endless sucking of all aspects of the software miffs me.

Given that we’ve lost stable pagination, you would think that issues with selection would be eliminated. Nope! As you can see from the following screen shots (of Scribd on iPad) that you cannot make a highlight that spans a page boundary. But the “page” isn’t a thing! It’s just a bogus limitation that comes from slavishly adhering to a tiny part of physical books. Keeping page turning is good and functional. Keeping highlighting within page boundaries is daft.

I want to select the paragraph starting at the bottom. So I select the bit there at the bottom of this page...

I want to select the paragraph starting at the bottom. So I select the bit there at the bottom of this page…

...then I select the rest of the paragraph on the next page...

…then I select the rest of the paragraph on the next page…

...and I have two selections instead of one :(

…and I have two selections instead of onešŸ˜¦

