Sabbatical report: Week 5 and/or 6

October 8, 2013

I think I got my numbering confused! Plus I started on different days 🙂

Yeek. Ok, I’ll do a report every Monday, and it’s about the past week, thus this about Week 5.

Things are still not fully settled. I did manage to commute out and back by public transit (I still can’t drive!) and it’s only 2.5+ hours each way! Whee!

On the plus side, I get some reading done on the train. I’m not up to posting my stats (I want to put some software together to help with that).

I did make some progress on what I’m now calling the Examinator which is software to help with the creation and moderation of electronic (and paper!) exams. Check out a screenshot.

Examinator has 4 panes: Upper left is a pane with stats about the exam; below it is a tabluler view of the questions; when selected the text of the question appears in the upper right; and below that (currently) we have the LaTeX translation.

Examinator has 4 panes: Upper left is a pane with stats about the exam; below it is a tabluler view of the questions; when selected the text of the question appears in the upper right; and below that (currently) we have the LaTeX translation.

Examinator is written in Pharo Smalltalk using the awesome Glamour toolkit. And yes, I’m too lazy to link right now.

I’ve started working on understanding what it would take to represent all clinical knowledge in a useful way. I don’t lack for ambition, but I also don’t lack for being daunted. I had a nice conversation with Marc Overage and I really hope we can push this forward together.

I’ve lined up a few more talks and visits, though there are still (I imagine) many more to come.

On a personal note, I visited my mom and nephews. We scattered Chris’s ashes in Ocean City, NJ (with a soupçon in her compost heap). These are good things.

On the downside, Zoe got a wee bit sick and me as well. She had some cold like thing and I’ve had exhaustion and various sorts of pain. Skin sensitivity of new and annoying sorts (as well as old and annoying sorts).

OTOH, we picked apples and tomatoes and raspberries. I made cake and cookies. Zoe has made pie.

How bad can it be?

2 Responses to “Sabbatical report: Week 5 and/or 6”

  1. Mark Says:

    Certainly not as bad as Bb. 🙂

    And along those lines, shouldn’t question in the screenshot have two correct answers? (If I read the + and – markers correctly)


Comments are closed.

