An Information Control Center

September 20, 2010

As term starts up, I have to think about Twitter.

I’m not really very into Twitter. I made an account last year to use for my classes. It worked semi-ok, but not brilliantly. I’m not really in the Twitter mode (though there were some fun events I participated in). I do better with Facebook.

I do miss my old bloggy, email list, and IRC (and IM) experiences which have all faded rather a lot.

One thing that I do find frustrating is managing the different services/fora. TweetDeck is sorta ok at keeping me aware of Facebook and Twitter (though it really sucks for writing to Facebook).

Basically, I want three things:

  1. I want to be able to comfortably read the diverse info-streams and ignore them when I need to.
  2. I want to be able to contribute (e.g., comment, tweet, whatever) in a sane and happy way as well as keep track of the conversations across multiple fora.
  3. I want to be able to save/organize/gather information in a reasonably structured way no matter which thing I push it to.

For example, I like to share links that I, myself, want to reference in the future. Instead of having to paste the link to 1) several email, 2) delicious, 3) twitter, 4) Facebook, and 5) IM or having to pick a winner and be disciplined about using it, I’d like to be able to use any of these things freely and still end up with a nice collection of links. Indeed, I’d like to know of those links who I sent it to.

This is, in principle, very doable. But I need to do it.

