Ada Lovelace Day: Birte Glimm

October 16, 2013

Ada Lovelace day snuck up on me again this year. Last year, I missed it altogether (it really was crisesy with the courses and other things! really!) and it’s pretty late now. But I’m determined not to get one in. And this year at least my pick is easy because I’ve thought about it for a while: Birte Glimm.

Birte Glimm

Birte graduated from the University of Manchester in 2008 and was (jointly) awarded best School Thesis for her dissertation entitled: Querying Description Logic Knowledge BasesThis is one of those serious, scary, fairly hard (for me) complexity theoretic theses. If you just look at her DBLP page, you’ll see the breath and depth of her thinking, which perpetually humbles me. She handled the SPARQL working group with aplomb (not easy!) and got the whole Entailment Regime stuff to spec (which I certainly failed to do). Plus, she hacks reasoners like HermiT.

So, hard math, brilliant outreach, excellent programmer, and amazing person. I think it’s fair to say that she has gotten much more than her fair share of shit professionally and personally, and handled it with grace and determination while still doing absolutely stellar work. My only criticism is that she sometimes needs me to remind her to say “No” more often and value her own stuff over the wants of others. Fortunately, as she’s quick to demonstrate on some of my insaner requests, she can get back to “No” pretty quickly.

Since I have to catch up on my paper reading plans, I’ll try to blog some of her papers over the next week to make this all rather more technical. This is not only fun, but on my list since I need a bunch of her stuff for various research purposes.

2 Responses to “Ada Lovelace Day: Birte Glimm”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Oh wow, I am honored! Somehow I have a different picture of myself ;-) but I could certainly write a glorious article about you (if I were not too lazy with writing)! Thanks Bijan!

    • Bijan Parsia Says:

      Birte, it was a pleasure (nay, a joy) as well as a privilege to witness your personal and professional development. The fact that I contributed positively is one of the things I use as a positive measure of my worth.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

